Since the establishment of the State of Israel, four new holidays have been added to the Jewish calendar.

  • Yom HaShoah (Holocaust Remembrance Day)
  • Yom HaZikaron (Memorial Day)
  • Yom HaAtzmaut (Independence Day)
  • Yom Yerushalayim (Jerusalem Day)

These holidays are observed in Israel as national holidays.

Yom HaAtzmaut, the Israeli Independence Day, marks the establishment of the modern state of Israel in 1948. It is observed on or near the 5th of Iyar in the Hebrew calendar, which usually falls on a day in April.
The Israeli Knesset established the day before Yom HaAtzmaut as Yom HaZikaron, a Memorial day for all the soldiers who lost their lives fighting in the War of Independence and in other subsequent battles.